Introducing: Judged by JUDY

Judged by Judy is a new blog site where I will be judging the best and worst of our community, particularly the Northeast corridor of Flushing, Bayside, Whitestone and College Point!

As many of you know, I live and work in the area and “this is not just my business, it’s my neighborhood.” Many of you know of my daughter Jolie from the various postcards and marketing pieces you have seen over the years. OMG, back in 1997, some of you may even remember the postcard showing an enormous 8 month pregnant me on the front of the ad with the words above “Judy’s EXPECTING… to be your realtor in 1998!” Well that was a long time ago but when Jolie was little we used to play a game every night, we would sit in her bed as I tucked her in, and I would say, “Okay Jolie, now tell me what was your best and worst of the day?” This game would be abbreviated to Best and Worst – it was designed to get Jolie to tell me everything that happened to her during the day, and to emphasize the best things that happened but also learn that not everything is gumdrops and rainbows and that to appreciate the sunshine, you have to feel a lite rain. It worked, and has stayed an integral part of our communication to this day. Jolie just turned 16, and I realize that we all have to take the good with the bad, and appreciate what’s best while recognizing that nothing is perfect.

So let me set the parameters of the communication site. Something is either great, and makes it to the “best” list or it’s not – but the only thing that will make it to my worst list are actions that are out of sync with our quality of life, such as dirt, graffiti, rude behavior, or noise. This is not a place where we will criticize or in some other way, whether intentionally or unintentionally hurt a business or personal or commercial entity. If you are an awesome business in the community you will make it to my “best” list. We welcome reader’s comments but his is not a bashing site, and we reserve the right to remove any content that we deem hurtful or non-productive, so please comment but keep it clean and venom-free, no matter how honest you think you are behaving.

So here it goes! The comments I make here are only the opinion of one person – me, and everything is up for a debate. You can love the site or hate it, but I assure you that the items I find worst, will be indisputable. I mean for starters, who likes vulgar, non-colorful, non-creative graffiti or potholes that haven’t been attended to since February?! On the other hand, who doesn’t love a business owner who gives back to their community, provides great food if it’s a restaurant or food/specialty shop, or a business owner who delivers on their promise of amazing service? Can any business be too good?! I think, and again this is just my opinion, but the answer is one big Emphatic NO.

So like years ago, when my daughter and I were already playing the BEST AND WORST GAME for half of my 4 year old’s life, I never got tired of the many, but never too many times that her “best” was “being with mama” and I always smiled after she told me her “worst” and told her “My baby, if this is your worst, your days will be good.” Let’s all work together as one community to accentuate and support the positive and minimize and mitigate the negative in our lives and in our community. Now that’s just my opinion, but after all, this is just one person’s judgement, Just Judy’s.

Leave a Reply

